Achieving Color Effects

I just came across Vicki Welsh’s take on how quilters can achieve color luminosity.  And here’s her take on color intensity and saturation.  Vicki is a dyer (the picture above is a sample of her hand dyes) so I trust her on this.  I find it easy to recognize these effects when I see a quilt, but hard to figure out how to make it happen in my own quilts.  I know the saturated colors in Amish quilts make me worry they will vibrate off the wall.

I think I need to revisit Joen Wolfrom’s books on color theory.  I recall she has lots of examples of quilts with luminosity.  Dang, I’ll just have to look at more quilting books.

2 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

2 responses to “Achieving Color Effects

  1. Jacki Myers

    I’d love to see more information on this! Jacki

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

