Rainbow Connection

It’s amazing what my subconscious gets up to while I’m working on quilting projects.  As I sewed two small quilts that feature circles and half circles, my brain was mashing up my interest in luminosity, what I learned from Joen Wolfrom’s Color Play, and my strips of scrap fabric. The result? A color wash paper pieced string quilt that said “make me” on Monday. It was pieced by Thursday night.

Here’s the effect I was going for in this quilt, minus the cute factor.

.This was not a carefully thought out project.  Under the guidance of radio waves from Alpha Centauri (as good an explanation as any) I pulled out my scrap strip bins from the closet, sorted the strips into color piles, arranged each pile in a rough color intensity order, and retrieved an old phone book stashed beneath my sewing table.  The phone book?  Oh, I tear out pages and use them as the paper for my paper piecing.  They’re great for 8 inch square blocks.

My goal was to use only scraps that were already cut in strips, and with 3 or 4 exceptions I succeeded.  I did use a lot of the reverse sides of my fabric, especially for the light sides of my squares.  Some of the blocks I made didn’t play well with the others, so they’ve been set aside in the bin of orphan blocks.  And some of the color transitions aren’t as smooth as I’d like, but I stuck with my rule that I could use only scraps or fabric already in my possession.

Here’s the result of all that strip work done on autopilot.  I still have to remove about half the paper, but the phone book paper tears very easily, especially since I used a size 14 needle to make the holes bigger.  I’m thinking of binding it in dark purple, but have no ideas about how to quilt it.  And I have no idea what to call it. For now I’m content to have worked out in fabric some of that color theory I’ve been pondering.

1 Comment

Filed under In Process

One response to “Rainbow Connection

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

