FAVA Fave Rediscovered

Last summer I took in the biennial FAVA art quilt show in Oberlin, Ohio.  I was particularly taken with the two pieces below, but never followed up to learn more about their talented maker – Liz Kuny.  I hope to redress that now.

This piece, called “A Steady Beat,” appeals to me because of its rhythms and textures.  It reminds me of medical monitors.

You really want to reach out and help yourself to a gumball in this piece, “Flight of Fancy.”  The applique work is expert; you don’t realize it’s applique until you decide to figure out how it was made.

Here’s her statement about her work:

“The strongest influence on my work has been my love of all art that combines a graphic use of color with a designer’s attention to line and edge. Using fabric as a medium was a natural choice for me because it lends itself beautifully to achieving these effects. At the same time, the process of constructing an art quilt appeals greatly to the puzzle-solver in me.”

Quilting as puzzle solving, hmmmm.

Finally, here’s a lovely subtle piece she’s created, called “Airborne.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Art quilts

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

