What Do Lizards and Pin Cushions Have In Common?

No, a second grader who loves riddles isn’t the guest blogger.  Yes, I have a non-snarky answer.  And that is – ground walnut shells.  Bear with me a moment as I relate the back story here.  My modern quilt guild is having a pin cushion exchange.  Once I decided to participate I went looking for pin cushion ideas.

Apparently a goodly number of Pinterest boards are devoted to the things.  And I’m not talking your humble tomatoes or modest squares and rectangles.  Picture frames, jewelry boxes, tea cups, mason jars, cookie cutters, and flower pots have all been turned into pin cushions.

Here’s my nomination for the most twee – a baby shoe pin cushion.  I can hear the awwws now.

baby-shoe-pin-cushion

After I got my jaw back in position, I decided that the only twist to my pin cushions would be their shape.  I made two triangular pin cushions out of scraps, using a log cabin pattern. I also made a small nine patch square one.  Once that was done I had to find some stuffing.  I rejected poly batting as too loose and sand as too messy.  Then I read that some cushion makers were using ground walnut shells.  I was relieved to find you could buy this product rather than pulverizing shells yourself.

And where do you buy this product?  Here’s where the lizards come in.  It seems the creatures like to dig and burrow in ground walnut shells when they’re kept as pets.  And so pet stores stock this stuff by the quart.

ground-shells

I now own 5 quarts of ground shells which are “ideal for desert dwelling reptiles like bearded dragons, monitors, desert skinks, uromastyx.”  And this was the smallest bag I could find.  I don’t mean to become a pin cushion wholesaler (or a reptile owner.)

And here are my stuffed pin cushions.  I’m pleased that the ground shells give enough weight to the cushions that they won’t be flying off the table all the time.  We’ll see if they help keep pins sharp.

pincushions

2 Comments

Filed under Commentary

2 responses to “What Do Lizards and Pin Cushions Have In Common?

  1. I missed the last meeting – what was the challenge? Just to make one? Or will it be exchanged, some other twist, etc?

    • We’re going to exchange pin cushions by putting them all in a bag and drawing one out. Also, the February meeting will be held at a different location so we can try to watch a Craftsy class. I think Patty has the details on the location, though Stephanie does as well.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

