It’s All About Process

I’ve been working on my Gloria Loughman type piece over the past few weeks as my slow quilting project.  And I’m using some of my “pretty” hand dyes in it.  They’re keeping company with fabric by Ricky Tims, Jinny Beyer, Marcia Derse, and some anonymous donated stuff. Once I decide whether I’ve gone far enough (or too far) I’ll be ready to add stitching to each piece and then sew them together.  The white outlines are stabilizer backing that will be removed once the stitching is done.

mosaic

My inspiration was a mosaic piece I found on Pinterest.

Loughman-drawing

I developed a full size pattern so I could make freezer paper templates of each large piece and figure out where to place the fusible applique.

Gloria2

Then I cut out my fabric and stay stitched each piece to embroidery stabilizer.

gloria3

Next came playing with the applique. I used both Wonder Under and Steam a Seam.  My iron is still trying to recover.

gloria5

The applique got more elaborate.

gloria6

I added circles with Paintstiks and came close to calling this step done.  I’m still playing with a few additions.

2 Comments

Filed under In Process

2 responses to “It’s All About Process

  1. Judy

    Your work is amazing! I am using some of my own hand dyes in an old old hand applique project now. Can’t wait to see more on this project.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

