What’s A Quilt Worth, Revisited

Sunday morning I was browsing the New York Times as I sipped my coffee.  I turned to the styles section for amusement (do normal people look like those models?)  and a picture of a quilt on page 3 caught my eye.

Let me quote the Times.  “The quilts are an ode to traditional American craftsmanship, made in Sugar Valley, Pa., by Amish artisans who pieced together the panels of hunter-green neoprene, lavender silk and cobalt-blue wool by hand.”  The quilt itself features large blocks of solids and looks to be tied rather than quilted. It is made from repurposed materials used in a fall 2013 fashion collection, and is available as a limited-edition pre-order for a mere $3,400. It is 71 inches by 57 inches.

Kroll quilt

It’s to laugh. I have nothing against this quilt, but the pretentious wording – Amish artisans, ode to traditional American craftsmanship – must add at least $1000 to the price.  And I’m glad they’re using the fabric leftovers from the clothing collection, but shouldn’t that make the price less? Or does the repurposed fabric add enough cachet to tack several hundreds more onto the price?

I must remember this approach if I ever try to sell my scrap quilts.  Let’s see – “eclectic collection of hand selected fabrics that reveal the changing history of women’s material desires .”  Oops, forgot to use the word “artisanal.”

3 Comments

Filed under Snark

3 responses to “What’s A Quilt Worth, Revisited

  1. Yeah, I need to try this. Spend about 4 hours in construction TOTAL, another 4 hours tying (or paying someone about $30 to tie) and sell for $3400. That would be AWESOME.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

