Free Patterns From Fabric Companies

A recent cleanup of my sewing room bookcase unearthed lists of online sources for free quilt patterns. I had forgotten about them because of all the junk piled on top of them. I checked out some fabric company websites and found a few patterns that appealed to me.  A big disclaimer here – fabric companies give away patterns that use lots of their fabrics (imagine that) and the patterns can be a bit tricky to adapt to other fabric you may want to use.

Makower UK has some different quilts, such as Byzantium and Sansui.

BYZANTIUM-CUT-OUT-QUILT-GOLD-VERSION1-394x400

FinalHexagonBlue_300dpi_Jo1Free Spirit offers many patterns, including a few that break free of the usual quilt themes of flowers and cute.  Fabric designers include Tula Pink, Denyse Schmidt, and Anna Maria Horner. Try Curious Nature or Chocolate Lollipop. Oh my, I’m back to circles. I’ll warn you that the free projects page on this website takes forever to load.

CuriousNature_freespiritChoclollypopsMy last featured website, Michael Miller, offers more than the usual number of patterns that appeal to me.  Building Blocks (the middle quilt below) looks fun for fussy cut fabric; and This Way and That Way, Neon Gray, and Park Slope Triangles all look doable with fabrics in my stash. They are all available as PDF downloads.

thiswaythatwaybuildingblocksneongrayparkslopeHope you find inspiration looking at the possibilities on these websites.

2 Comments

Filed under Project Ideas

2 responses to “Free Patterns From Fabric Companies

  1. toggpine

    Thanks for the reminder. I forget to check out those sites when I’m trying to find a design that fits a particular person. Thanks for the heads up on the load time too.

    • I hope you find some doable patterns at these sites. One good thing is many of the patterns make up smaller than bedsize, often lap or crib size. I find that handy for gift giving.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

