Progress on Upscale Challenge

This project has introduced me to two materials I’ve come to like – color catchers and that mylar stuff.  The color catchers (once dyed with laundry bleeding) cut well, are easy to sew, can be glued, and also can be drawn on with colored pencils.  The mylar stuff also cuts well and is easy to sew.  For a bonus it crinkles up in a most interesting way when ironed.

I discovered the crinkling by accident and then covered the strips with parchment paper and ironed them with an iron at a synthetic setting to deliberately crinkle them.

crinkled_mylarI’ve been developing patterns on my mature toves with paint, markers, and colored pencils.

raw_materials_tovesAnd I’ve finished quilting and binding the main piece.  I turned under the backing for the top and bottom and sewed crochet edging on the sides.

toves_bindingAll that’s left, I think, is final positioning of my toves.

2 Comments

Filed under In Process

2 responses to “Progress on Upscale Challenge

  1. What are you using to get the “rick-rack” edges? Is that a rotary cutter? also I don’t know what “tove” means. Can you help me out on that?

    • The edges are achieved with decorative blades for my rotary cutter – scalloped and pinked. I love these for fused fabrics as well as paper. These are best bought with 40% off coupons as they’re not cheap. The toves are imaginary beings mentioned in the first lines of Lewis Carroll’s poem “Jabberwocky.” “Twas brillig and the slithy toves/Did gyre and gimble in the wabe.” I love his work – Alice in Wonderland – and decided to make up a story line to fit my quilt.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

