Another Quilted Gift

My extended family seems divided about the joy of receiving quilted gifts.  There’s one branch that’s still exclaiming over the quilts I gave each of my cousins.  Nieces and nephews have expressed varying degrees of enthusiasm over baby quilts. Then there’s my brother who declared a moratorium on more quilted gifts.

Well, his birthday is coming up and I’ve held off on quilted items for several years, so this month he’s getting a table runner. I’m calling it Smoke Rings, though my brother doesn’t smoke.

smoke rings frontFront

smoke rings backBack

It’s based on a pattern from the book Modern One-Block Quilts.  I reviewed it in this post. The pattern calls for many rows of squared off Os, joined to form eights. I used just one row from the pattern.

I mashed together African batiks, Japanese yuwa, and some tone on tone fabrics, all from my stash.  The colors reflect those of my brother’s stoneware dishes. The quilting is bad free motion, done with smoke invisible thread.  One of these days I should try marking before attempting free motion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Completed Projects

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

