Candy Is Dandy

Since my free motion quilting adventures await the delivery of my new bobbin cases, I began work on my guild  M&M candy challenge quilt guilt free. I didn’t even eat the candy.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m using a pattern (gasp) from the new book A Quilter’s Mixology by Angela Pingel.  It’s called Loosely Curved Wall Hanging. My colors must be only those on a package of peanut M&Ms, and five of them must be used on the quilt front. Here are my choices.

candy challenge piecingKind of like the basic box of crayons, but candy manufacturers don’t go for subtle color combinations. I plan to add brown as the binding color.

Piecing was straightforward, except for the drunkards path blocks. I followed the book’s directions for sewing them and found it worked well.  I had very little block trimming to do.

The book calls for you to crease both the pie and the L pieces in the middle of the curve with your iron, pin just the mid point, put the two pieces together, and start sewing at one edge. When you reach the mid point, you cut thread, turn the block over, and begin sewing from the other edge to the middle. Here’s a link to Angela’s video on her technique.

I sewed slowly and had no pleats or puckers. This would be even easier with a larger block.  Mine finished at 3.5 inches square.

The glitches I found in the book involved a drawing of pressing direction that was the opposite of that suggested in the text, and what seemed to be an omission of a few blocks from the cutting directions. Since I ignore most pressing directions in favor of open seams the first glitch didn’t bother me.

The second one confused me once I put my pieces up on the design wall and found a few holes.  I cut the pieces needed and was thankful I had enough fabric to do so.

candy challenge topAll sewn together and waiting to be quilted.

Now what can I make with the curved leftovers?

curved block leftovers

8 Comments

Filed under In Process

8 responses to “Candy Is Dandy

  1. Patty

    What a fun quilt!

  2. That’s going to be really cute!

  3. Judy

    I like it a lot!

  4. A fine way to use those M&M colors! But I’d get a craving every time I looked at the quilt . . . 😉

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

