But Wait, There’s More!

Here’s a few more of the quilts I loved in Quilts: Masterpieces from the American Folk Art Museum. I photographed them from the book itself as I couldn’t find images online. Please bear with the sometimes strange curves that follow the book’s pages.

center_star_quiltCenter Star quilt, New England, 1815-1825, artist unidentified. The color variations in the background rust fabric (wool, I think) seem to have resulted from the use of different pieces of fabric (dye variations) or the effects of time.  Personally I love the variations as they give such subtlety and richness.

IMG_4931Orange Peel Variation quilt, Pennsylvania, 1860-1880, artist unidentified. The precision in this symmetrical quilt is incredible, given all those curves. I wonder if the maker was influenced by Pennsylvania German hex signs.

IMG_4937Stars and Pentagons, made 1880-1900, U.S., artist unidentified. What an interesting contrast between the irregularly sided shapes and the precise stars. Behind that apparent wonkiness is a strong pentagon structure. It looks like each block repeats the same irregular shapes.

IMG_4933Soldier’s Quilt, probably U.S., Canada or Great Britain, 1854-1890.  Could the attribution have been vaguer? This bravura quilt leaves no shape out. I think you could play Parcheesi on it. Look how the outer diamond border corners were “turned” with that club wedge.

detailEven though I neglected to get the attribution for this quilt and the book has been returned to the library, I wanted to show the detail, which leaves modern quilts in the shade. To me it has an African print fabric feel though it seems to be made up of tiny fabric scraps.

I can’t wait for the Folk Art Museum to host another quilt exhibit so these and other quilted treasures can be seen in person.

6 Comments

Filed under Books

6 responses to “But Wait, There’s More!

  1. jennyklyon

    I bought the book and it came yesterday-you made me spend money on this fabulous book! Thank you-I can’t wait to savor every page!

  2. Judy

    It is amazing to me how ‘modern’ and ‘artie’ these quilts are. I guess there really is nothing new in the world….

  3. To me, that center star quilt is the apex of quilting making–strong, simple, bold, idiosyncratic, beautiful. And the focus on the stupendous hand quilting!

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

