Project Progress

Despite the continuing cold weather that belies the calendar, March will end soon. My quilting endeavors have focused on getting projects done, though a small new project assembled itself on my design wall.

The quilting on Curves Ahead is done, and I’m dithering about the binding fabric.

Curves_Ahead_quilted

Curves_Ahead_detail1You can see the seersucker effect the serpentine stitched rows give. I can’t wait to wash this one and get it crinkly.

Then, since my sewing machine was freed up from serpentine stitch tyranny, I had to start playing with a jelly roll of Caryl Bryer Fallert’s gradations fabric. My original idea was to run two different gradations in opposite directions. It may have been the colors I chose, but that effect looked awful. Since I had a bunch of 2.5 inch squares cut I started playing and came up with this.

Electric_BlueI think it has a passing resemblance to the work of Scottish artist and architect Charles Rennie Macintosh.

Charles-Rennie-Mackintosh-Chair-for-the-Ingram-Street-Tea-Room-1911-Glasgow-City-Council-Glasgow-Museums-540x818

I might adapt one of his designs for the quilting, using curves to offset all those straight lines.

Mackintosh-artwork

I mounted the silk organza class exercise on a larger quilted base and framed it with yarn made with silk sari material. Finally, I finished the edge with three rounds of zigzag. It’s strange that the transparency doesn’t show well in photos.

Curtained_Window

 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Completed Projects, In Process

17 responses to “Project Progress

  1. Pingback: Architectural Inspiration | The Snarky Quilter

  2. You’ve been so productive! I’ve always loved that Curves Ahead quilt and the quilting really does finish it perfectly–so the tedium paid off. I’ll be interested in watching the progress on the gradations quilt–I love Mackintosh’s work and agree that some curved lines might be just the thing!

    • Thanks for the kind words. Maybe they’ll spur me to choose a binding fabric and wrap this one up. The gradations quilt now has a backing made and is on a hanger awaiting a quilting design. Hmmm, the number of items to be quilted never seems to go down.

  3. Judy

    Using the onerous serpentine stitch added so much texture to the piece. Love the effect. And I agree about Rennie Macintosh. Love his designs. He did window designs as well in the Willow Tea Room in Glasgow.

    • I think I’m glad I took the time to use that stitch. For once, the payoff exceeded my expectations. I plan to spend a bit of time working up a quilting design appropriate to the Macintosh influence.

  4. They are all very cool. I am so impressed by your close and consistent quilting!

  5. I love your architectural piece. I too dreamed of being an architect. I even started college in architecture but switched to economics. Go figure.

    • If I recall, architecture is at least a 5 year program and was, at the time I was making degree decisions, very male-centric. I think all the physics and math put me off. Besides, I had already read all the books for my English lit degree, so I had more time for a social life.

  6. Interesting the similarities between these three projects. One thing I note is they are all architectural, each provides windows, but the windows are treated differently. On top the view is thoroughly open; in the middle it is thoroughly masked. On the bottom we have a view out to the buildings (and their windows) across from us.

    • Funny you should mention architecture as being an architect was my childhood dream job. A friend commented that the organza piece reminded her of curtains blowing in front of a window. And windows were my interpretation of our prompt, “light.” I think I can now interpret the electric blue middle piece and stained glass, though that wasn’t in my mind when I constructed it. (See, another architecture word.)

  7. Pam

    Stunning. I meant to comment on Curves Ahead a few weeks ago, and what I wanted to say that it reminded me of André Courreges’ work in the 1960s. Love the close quilting. I am coming closer to trying it!

  8. jennyklyon

    I’d love to see your transparent piece-the quilted frame around the transparent interior sounds luscious!

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

