Rust Never Sleeps

For a few posts I plan to feature work that I’ve completed recently. I guess I’d better get cracking so I’m not a one post wonder.

I began Rust Never Sleeps over a year ago with bits of cloth I had dyed, discharged, and tortured in some fashion. Rather than sew the bits together I elected to lay them on fusible batting and a backing, and then press the result once I covered all the batting. I created lots of raw edges, which I stitched down as I quilted. This technique worked to my advantage since I was going for a coarse, worn look inspired by lots of photos of rusty buildings, roofs, iron, etc. If you’re really interested, you can look at my Pinterest board called Rust.

Rust Never SleepsAfter quilting this piece (I won’t talk about the FMQ issues) I slapped on more color with paint sticks, Derwent Inktense pencils, paint and other methods I’ve forgotten.

Rust Never Sleeps detail 2When I showed it to my art quilt critique group a member said the piece was lovely, but it was a background. It needed more. I got her point and went home to ponder what to put over the background.

Back to Pinterest where I found I had pinned a photo of a fire escape. Eureka! There’s lots of rust on old fire escapes.

Rust Never Sleeps inspirationI played with different configurations of a fire escape silhouette, settled on one, put Mistyfuse on black silk organza, cut out strips, arranged and secured them. With a bit more quilting and a zigzagged yarn edge I was done.

Rust Never Sleeps edge

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, Completed Projects

9 responses to “Rust Never Sleeps

  1. I love the color and detail in this piece. The fire escape is such a great addition. It gives it depth.

  2. Rebecca in SoCal

    I like the transparency of the fire escape. It gives the piece structure and focus, while not becoming what it’s all about. It looks like a memory.

  3. That made a perfect background for your fire escape!

  4. I’d love to see this piece in person. It is very exciting — so much to look at, but all tied together with the fire escape. Yes, as Kerry said, brilliant. The lines of the escape give us a focal point as well as direction, and a sense of hope. We have choices, up or down, there is an escape, we can get to the air outside when the walls are closing in on us. I hope this is a piece you’ll show.

  5. I think the addition of the fire escape was brilliant–it really does bring everything else together. It must’ve felt liberating to make this quilt because the whole theme suggests that there’d be no “mistakes.”

    • Hmm, I guess the theme of this one could be the brevity of human creations, like that Shelley poem “Ozymandias.” It was very much composed on the fly in response to what I had already laid down. And mistakes became part of what was already done.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

