The Possibilities of Purple

I’ve bought and been given bits of purple fabric that I think would make a fabulous small quilt when combined with sequined fabric left over from a theater costume.

What to use for inspiration? I’ve been looking at photos of fractals.  Probably the best known are Mandelbrot Sets.  According to Wolfram MathWorld:

“A fractal is an object or quantity that displays self-similarity, in a somewhat technical sense, on all scales. The object need not exhibit exactly the same structure at all scales, but the same “type” of structures must appear on all scales.”

MetalBig algorithm generated

image_fractalsI thought I could use the paisley sequin shapes as a repeating pattern along a curve. That’s as far as I’ve gotten, but I envision a lot of curved piecing or applique.

If you’ve never explored fractal images, check out the fractal of the day at Sprott’s Fractal Gallery. You can also find enhanced fractal images for computer screen wallpaper through a search engine.

6 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, In Process, Inspiration

6 responses to “The Possibilities of Purple

  1. Judy

    Personally, I see a lot of beading in your future!

  2. Ohhhh those look beautiful! The fractal idea could be gorgeous.

    • I’m hopeful I’ll be able to translate some of those photos into a quilt. First I have to see just how much of the sequin material I have. I don’t want to develop a design that calls for twice as much as I have.

  3. Love the images of fractals and using these as a design inspiration. Purple? Not so much . . .

    • I never expected to have so much purple fabric, but purple looks so good in the silks and velvets I’ve ended up with that I had to put them together in something. I do plan to have another color or two in whatever I end up making.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

