It Only Took Two Years

I’m a poster child for the slow quilting movement when it comes to my Moonrise quilt.

Moonrise 2It began with dyed scraps Vicki Welsh gave me. I purchased a black gradient from her, as well as a fat quarter pack of grays and put together the top rather quickly.

I made the moons with a drunkards path template I bought years ago. They’re appliqued on and lined with batting to prevent the seams from showing through.

circle_formmaking_circlesThen the top languished in a closet as I tried to figure out how to quilt it. After I realized I would have to free motion quilt it for the look I wanted, I procrastinated further with a lengthy thread selection process.

I forced myself to sit down and do it, and spent some time ripping stitches out. My biggest hurdle was the metallic and holographic thread I wanted to use for the moons. Even though I used every trick I ever heard of for this type of thread, it still kept breaking and having tension problems.

Moonrise detail 3I think I used about 8 different threads to try to capture the different grays of night clouds.

Moonrise detail 1

I deliberately chose a backing fabric that wouldn’t show my quilting errors.

moon rise backAfter I finished the quilting I hung the piece over a railing and tried to figure out how to finish the edges.  I considered fancy edge treatments that involved silver cording and ribbon, but I ended up going simple with a narrow binding of Grunge fabric.  I couldn’t find a silvery gray cord that didn’t look like it was meant for holiday gift wrapping.

Let me know if you need any silver ribbon. I may have just the thing as I bought several possibilities at Joann Fabric.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, Completed Projects

6 responses to “It Only Took Two Years

  1. patty

    Yeah you got it finished! It is a beautiful piece!

  2. Wonderful piece. Great use of Vicki’s beautiful fabric. If two years is slow going…I’m in big trouble!

    • Two years is slow for me because I have a short attention span. If I don’t finish a quilt while I still retain my vision for it, it doesn’t get done. Of course, some of my quilts would have been better left fallow for a bit and then taken in another direction. Thanks for the kind words.

  3. It’s fabulous and was worth the wait!

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

