Fraternal Twins Completed

A bit ago I wrote about a small quilt called Arcs, specifically how I chopped it up twice. The first piece to calve (think icebergs) from it became another small quilt I called Grasses.  Both developed from the chunks of fabric below.

Arches beginning

Now Grasses is done. I continued to use big stitch embroidery – I got into french knots – and couched cord, but added some decorative machine stitching.

GrassesHere are some closeups.

Grasses detail 1 Grasses detail 2The edges are finished with a single fold binding. For decorative pieces I see no need to use a double fold binding. In fact, I’m rather tired of bindings all together, and want to try alternatives. Jamie Fingal uses a wool blend felt backing that she trims to 1/8 inch beyond the edge all around. I could get into that. She uses felt as batting and backing, as shown in this post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art quilts, Completed Projects, Everything Else

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

