October Quilt Show In Akron

If you live within driving distance of Akron, Ohio, please consider a road trip to the Mutton Hill Quilt Show in Akron, Ohio, on October 22 and 23. It’s a fundraiser for the Summit County Historical Society that combines a preview party, a judged show, historical quilts and coverlets; plus 60 art quilts from 2015’s Quilt National. There will be at least 25 vendors, free talks, raffle opportunities, and probably lots more I’m forgetting. Check out the website for details.

mutton-hill-perkins-mansion

SCHS Perkins Mansion and the namesake mutton.

Yes, I have a quilt in the show and am volunteering both before and during the show. But I can tell you, based on what I saw at quilt intake, the entries are above and beyond those in the usual guild show. Even if you only like art quilts, here’s another chance to see two-thirds of the 2015 Quilt National choices.

The show will be at the John S. Knight Convention Center in downtown Akron with lots of close by free parking. Admission is $10. Hours are Saturday, October 22, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Sunday, October 23, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

I’ll be around Saturday morning and early afternoon, and Sunday after 3 p.m., so if you come please track me down and say hi.

2 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, Quilt Shows

2 responses to “October Quilt Show In Akron

  1. Oh, I wish I could be there! I wonder if they allow photography… if so, I hope we see photos in a future post and more about your time volunteering and enjoying the show.

    • I plan to take as many pix as possible. I don’t think I can take photos of the QN pieces – they want you to buy the catalog, but the rest are up for grabs unless the quilter has specifically said no photos.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

