Quirky and Creative Online

Sometimes I need to step back from quilting/crafting internet resources to consider other creative material. Here are some resources that, if nothing else, have refreshed my mind.

Wabi-sabi has become a popular term to describe (and sometimes excuse) less than perfect sewing and quilting. It is a Japanese aesthetic about the beauty of the impermanent, imperfect, and incomplete. I found a short video (4 minutes) on wabi-sabi by Cristobal Vila from Spain that’s all photography from Japan.

The textures shown in that video are echoed on Elemental Environments, a New Zealand website of photos that are all about texture. Right now the site developers are making the photos freely available. I love to browse the photos for printing and quilting ideas, and to help me see the overlooked. You can also search for specific terms, such as rocks.

elemental-environmentsI think this photo is peeling paint, but to me it’s an abstract landscape.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

4 responses to “Quirky and Creative Online

  1. I see that landscape! I see things in “things” all the time. It sounds like you may have that same condition. I find it artistically helpful.

  2. You have your own unique way of seeing!

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

