Beatles Challenge Is Done and Dusted

I mentioned my guild’s Beatles song challenge as one of my projects for 2017. I chose Paperback Writer, and had great fun researching old pulp paperback covers.

dark-street-murders-coverThe legs encased in seamed stockings drew me to this cover for my inspiration. It was one of several that featured women’s gams. I changed it up a bit, added other bits appropriate to a pulp mystery story, and drew it out.  Since books need titles, I picked a 1964 Beatles song, Baby’s In Black, as suitable to the occasion.

Once I sewed together the green/yellow/black ombre fabrics as the background, I fused the figures and shadows on.

baby-partsI used black organza and black netting for the shadows. The red title piece was sewn on and then the fabric in back was cut off to reduce bulk. Drawing the gun gave me some difficulty until I simplified it. According to my husband the barrel is too short, but he wasn’t the one who had to cut it out. BTW, my husband also asked where the blood was. I told him the guy sustained a head wound.

babys-in-black

 

16 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, Completed Projects

16 responses to “Beatles Challenge Is Done and Dusted

  1. Edith

    Really love it. What a great idea and execution!

  2. I loved the idea for this challenge when I first read about it and your approach is such fun–it shows not just your technical ability but the thought and creativity you put into the details. Maybe you could show us some of the other quilts that addressed the challenge?

  3. Oh what fun! Such a great interpretation of the theme! I love how three dimensional it feels. It really does evoke the feeling of the old pulp paperback novels.

  4. I thought she shot him but then threw the gun way over there to his body to make it look like he shot himself. Or was he going to shoot her first? I guess I’ll just have to read the book! 🙂
    I love it!
    I love the old sci-fi covers and have always wanted to do some quilts based on those.

  5. I love the details of her tweed skirt and the seamed stockings. And with her heel raised, where is she going? 🙂 Very good piece all around.

  6. Excellent piece! The book spine and pages are great and your placement of shadow and light really work to set the mood. It’s fun (for me) to see a more pictorial piece compared to the abstract pieces you so often share. You are talented all around!

    • Yeah, occasionally I do pictorial. Right after doing one I swear I’ll never do another, but then I forget that resolve and eventually make another. I was originally attracted to the modern quilt movement for the graphic qualities. And thanks for the compliment.

  7. I really enjoyed the graphic arts feel, and how the Book came thru. Great interp!

  8. Jane

    I like your interpretation, Joanna! Definitely has the pulp/noir feel! And, yes, of course the blood is “off camera!” As to the gun barrel, I must respectfully disagree with your husband: your design is quite similar to a compact semi-automatic handgun I saw in an article recently in a friend’s magazine. Hope to see this quilt in person.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

