More on Dendritic Printing

Since some of you seemed interested in this method of fabric (and paper) printing I’ll take a deeper dive. I had never heard of it before the Backgrounds and Textures class, but the technique has been around for at least a decade on YouTube, and who knows how much further back in pre-online video days.

This was my first print. You get two impressions from each press.
Here I used glass plates and printed on old monoprints and newspaper.
Textile paint circles on linen, printed separately.

I found that several factors can affect the thickness of the branches and the patterns:

The material of the plates used. Glass panes (I used old picture frames) seemed to create thicker branches than loose leaf binder plastic divider sheets. In one of the videos below the demonstrator uses acrylic blocks used for stamping.

The thickness of the paint and its application. I used Liquitex acrylic paint (the first image above,) Jacquard textile paint (the third image on linen,) and Blick fluid acrylic paint (the middle image in blue.) Obviously, the thinner the paint the more it spreads on the plate.

The amount of pressure used when pulling a print. A light touch is vital, otherwise the patterns get pushed down. Really, one gentle stroke seems to do the trick.

I hope to experiment more with fabrics and ways to change the patterns, maybe go for multi-color effects. This technique is fast, and offers almost instant gratification. After waiting overnight for some of my prints on fabric to dry so I could pull them, I am so ready for fast.

More videos:

Atomic Shrimp https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eerBW37SLxM

Catherine Rains

Joggles

I’m linking to Off The Wall Friday.

8 Comments

Filed under In Process, Techniques

8 responses to “More on Dendritic Printing

  1. Great results, I especially like the layered one on the right in your second photo. As I was watching the video links you shared I kept thinking, “I have done something like this.” so I went back ten years in my YouTube videos and sure enough, by accident and not knowing what it was, I had. I used stencil plastic on my gel arts plate. It was my “Bamboo – Making a small art quilt” video. Now I’m going to try it again, with the same materials/tools, but more slowly and with intention. I’ll like to see how different the results look compared to between two glass or plexi plates. Thanks.

  2. Penny Bruce

    I love the contrast between the blocky geometric of the crossword puzzle and the wavy aquatic feel of the print. I have lots of pictures frame glass to try at home after our vacation.

  3. Vicki in MN

    Wow I have never heard of this before. I had to go watch the you tube. Very cool indeed!!

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.