Oink!

Many possible art quilt subjects have occurred to me, but none ever involved pigs. That gap has been remedied by a prompt from my art quilt group. Since 2019 is the Year of the Pig (or Boar) by Chinese tradition, our challenge is to feature one in a piece.

According to this website:

“Pigs might not stand out in a crowd. But they are very realistic. Others may be all talk and no action. Pigs are the opposite.

Though not wasteful spenders, they will let themselves enjoy life. They love entertainment and will occasionally treat themselves. They are a bit materialistic, but this is motivation for them to work hard. Being able to hold solid objects in their hands gives them security.

They are energetic and are always enthusiastic, even for boring jobs. If given the chance, they will take positions of power and status. They believe that only those people have the right to speak, and that’s what they want.”

While I don’t find pigs attractive creatures, I love the notion of pigs with wings, as in the derisory phrase “when pigs fly.” Of course I did an internet image search on flying pigs (freely available for use) and rediscovered the flying pigs outdoor sculpture at Cincinnati’s Sawyer Point Park. The sculptures commemorate the city’s history as Porkopolis and as a port. The pigs perch atop riverboat smokestacks. My husband was born in Cincinnati, so the deal was sealed.

I chose a photo of one pig, enlarged it, and traced it onto Pellon 830, a nonwoven material.

Since a flying pig is fantasy, I elected to use acid trip colors as I filled in my outline. In an alternate universe skies may be magenta purple and pigs may be golden orange with purple wings.

I originally planned to do fused applique, but then I considered how tedious it would be to cut out little shapes and stick them where I wanted them on a piece this small, 8.5 by 11 inches. Instead, Inktense pencils and Fabrico markers were easier and more fun. I added the gold ball because I thought my pig looked like it was ready to play volleyball, with its front trotters in the air.

I have two weeks to do the quilting and finishing touches before the reveal.

Linking up to Off The Wall Friday.

20 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, In Process

20 responses to “Oink!

  1. Kay Welch

    Love this! In my previous life, I had two pot belly pigs, Otis & Marlene, (so ugly but the male has the sweetest personality), and they lived to be 14 and 18. I especially like your color interpretations. I often say “Why Not?!” with my own creative activities.

  2. Now that’s a pig! What a fun and totally different approach to the challenge. I’d love to see what other quilters come up with, if you can get a few photos.

  3. Penny

    I meant to ask about your flying pig quilt idea today. How fun! Can’t wait to see it in its final form. I have to ask if you and your husband have sampled the breweries in Cincinnati!

    • Alas, our trips south usually go through Cincinnati to Northern Kentucky where my husband’s siblings live. So we’re usually rushing through the city to reach family gatherings instead of knocking back a few. Drinking and a 4 hour drive don’t mix well.

  4. Very cute! And I love finding out that there is a monument to flying pigs in one of our great cities!

  5. This is great! Good use of the pencils and markers. My farmer’s daughter mom spoke of pigs (I will spare you that) and my dad, not of his own accord, collected (not real) pigs. I have one from his collection that reminds me of him, and only one so nobody thinks I’m collecting them too! He was an artist and would have loved your art quilt! I look forward to seeing it quilted.

    • Your compliments are especially meaningful, coming from a pig-savvy person. The quilting will be spare and in gold thread to highlight the ball. I don’t trust the sturdiness of the Pellon 830 to do lots of stitching on it

  6. Jane Herbst

    I love it, Joanna!! Of course pigs can do anything you – or they – want them to do in your alternate universe! When pigs fly they can play volleyball with the moon! Looking forward to seeing this in person some first-Monday.

  7. Judith K Campbell

    Fun fun fun. Be careful or they may take over the world!

  8. Love the PIG! Mines done and Cindy is almost done with hers. See you at the meeting.

  9. This made me laugh. OF COURSE the pig would play volleyball!!! 😀 Is the background a piece of hand-dye or batik, or did you paint it, too? Fun. Thanks.

  10. This looks like the only possible way to do a pig! Fantastic!

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.