Excellence in Quilts Exhibit

Trigger warning, I’m going to brag on myself. Recently I was gobsmacked to have a work juried into the Fiber Art Network’s Excellence in Quilts show, now at the Virginia Quilt Museum in Harrisonburg, Virginia. “Shattered” is one of 22 works in the show, and it shares wall space with work by many premier art quilters.

You don’t have to take my word for it. Here are seven of the other quilts in the show. You can see all the quilts in FAN’s fall/winter magazine issue or at the museum. I took the pictures below from FAN’s Instagram feed.

Joan Schulze “Fata Morgana #4”
“Winter Shadows” Sara Sharp
Linda Colsh “A Thousand Cuts”
Fuzzy Mall “Aleef Mehdi”
Jean Howard “Monuments”
Mary Pal “A World of Difference”
Hyunjoo Cho “Winter”

My impression is the jurors (Judith Content and Alice Beasley) were aiming for a broad representation of styles and subject matter. If that is so, they succeeded.

Finally, in case you wondered what my work looks like,

“Shattered” 22 inches wide by 38.5 inches high

I’m linking to Off The Wall Fridays.

17 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, Completed Projects, Quilt Shows

17 responses to “Excellence in Quilts Exhibit

  1. Pingback: Recalibrating in 2022 | The Snarky Quilter

  2. gayle m coots

    How wonderful and exciting for you! Congratulations! Your work continues to inspires me.

  3. Jane Herbst

    Congratulations, Joanna, regarding both shows! Your work is stunning and definitely worthy of hanging next to the other pieces you showed here. Which piece will be in Sacred Threads? I only wish I could see both on the wall in person.

    • Thank you, Jane. “Dreams of Freedom” was selected for Sacred Threads. I believe that exhibit will be up in early July outside D.C.

      • Jane Herbst

        I like that one also, Joanna. So powerful in its simplicity. It’s been several years since we were in the DC area. Perhaps by July the world will have changed enough that we’re comfortable with a trip.

  4. Congrats! It gives a person a real boost to be accepted into a show. And it inspires others to see these wonderful pieces.

    • You are so right about the boost. Today I got word that I have a piece accepted into this year’s Sacred Threads show, so between the two I am giving myself air pats on the back. I hope the Virginia show will get many visitors as it shows such a range of quality art quilts.

  5. That is so exciting, congratulations! I love your piece and it certainly holds its own next to the others.

  6. I love that piece and I am glad it got in!

    I think that would be a great show to attend with a friend, and walk around (sipping a glass of wine of course) and discuss how all the pieces compare and contrast. Because to me, even though they are so different, they do each contribute to the overall impact of the show.

  7. WOW! Congratulations! It is gorgeous!

  8. Congratulations! Your piece is fabulous and certainly belongs in the show!

  9. Felice Dahlhausen

    That is fantastic! Congratulations and well deserved!

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.