It’s The Little Things

Not every piece of art has to be a blockbuster. Sometimes doing little projects can be satisfying, too. Over the past week I have been inspired to create mini bits by what turned up when I went hunting for a missing quilt. I am ashamed to say there’s no method to my quilt storage system other than compatibility between quilt size and storage container. A quilt may be rolled up, under my bed, in a tote, or in a big black trunk. So I looked through a lot of stuff before I found what I sought. Along the way I refolded and straightened quilts, looked at old quilts with new eyes, and came across unfinished bits.

The first bit I felt compelled to work with because I found it on February 12 was a paper pieced heart block. I think I made it before 2011. With the addition of batting, backing and binding (from stash!) it now can be used as a hanging, a trivet, or a potholder.

Next, two quilts I came across needed some revisions, so I did that. You can see the original versions here and here.

“If You Go Into The Woods Today” got warmer shading on the trees.
“Deep Purple” got a narrow green strip around part of the inner purple area.

Then, my bowl of thread snippets caught my eye. I had just read a blog post about thread bowls and I have a roll of Solvy. Some free motion stitching, organza scraps, and thread created a small bowl. It’s cute, but it sure won’t hold water.

To cap my week of minis, I decided on my 100 day project. My choice had to use materials on hand, be quick, be flexible enough to entertain me, and be easy. I plan to make a daily 4 by 4 inch collage featuring one of my printing stamps.

Just some of my collage paper scraps, cut up card stock, and a glue stick.
I have picked up stamps cheaply at art center sales to augment those I purchased at stores.

We’ll see how long I can keep this project going. I’m linking to Off The Wall Fridays.

7 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, collage, Completed Projects

7 responses to “It’s The Little Things

  1. Wow, great post. The additions to “If You Go Into The Woods Today” really emphasize the layers and adds depth, and the green strip in “Deep Purple” tightens up the design (in a good way) and IMO, gives the eye a path to travel around while viewing the piece. Love the bowl, it’s so delicate. And your 4 x 4 project sounds like a really good time! I look forward to any stamping pieces you make.

  2. So many fun projects. I want to just sit and look at Into the Woods for awhile, there’s so much about it I like. That thread bowl is so interesting – how did you shape it?

  3. Doreen Kuster

    Looking forward to seeing the 4×4 collages!

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.