Jumping Off Points

While we art quilters, or at least this one, would like to think all our work springs fresh from our creative minds, sometimes already made sources give us a head start. Like cheater cloth, fabric that mimics the look of patchwork but only needs quilting, I have used a tea towel and motifs from a bedsheet to do the heavy lifting for two of my current projects.

Because I follow Clare Youngs, a talented collagist and print maker, on Instagram, I learned she had designed a tea towel for Werkshoppe, a company that prints original artwork on products like puzzles and tea towels. Even though I find the company’s name painfully precious, I ordered a few towels and set about to translate one of Youngs’ motifs into a border.

This should finish at about 25″ wide by 30″ high

Youngs uses a flying geese type pattern a lot in her work, so I thought a wonky version would make a good border. To keep the long pieces straight I created a freezer paper piecing pattern and used my tutorial for construction. It’s a good thing I could refer to it as I had forgotten a few steps. I scrapped my original plan for a double border when it became apparent I didn’t have enough fabric bits. I always underestimate the amount of fabric triangular paper piecing takes.

For the back I dug out an old unfinished top that was partially disassembled and will add solid strips of orange fabric that’s been in my drawer for too long to bring it up to size. I am thinking of a traditional binding in black as I may use this on a table.

I never added the flying geese and have taken off the top and bottom rows.

My other assisted start project came about as an effort to use my fused fabric scraps. That’s right, yet another scrap collection. A friend had given me pieces of a sheet that was printed with stylized birds. I had attached fusible but never used them. I picked out any fused scraps that could represent leaves or flowers, found a blue piece of a tablecloth I used under painted fabric, and started composing with my scissors.

This should finish at 23″ wide by 19″ high, including the black border

Next, I got creative with Fabrico fabric markers (I have had them at least 9 years) to touch up stems, leaves, and petals. I plan to quilt it to the piece of black felt shown in the photo above and call it done. My working title is “Three Little Birds,” a tribute to the Bob Marley song. I mean, you can’t get more upbeat than that.

However, all quilting will have to wait for my injured left hand index finger to heal (I am a southpaw.) You should see me trying to type – slow and inaccurate.

I am linking to Off The Wall Fridays.

11 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, In Process, Techniques

11 responses to “Jumping Off Points

  1. Oh, I love these pieces, so bright and fun. Thanks for sharing the good ideas and the links too. It is hard to have painful and injured hands. I hope yours feel better soon.

    • Thanks so much. As for the links, once an information provider, always an information provider. I think arthritis is having its way with me. Next up will be finger painting.

  2. I didn’t know Clare Youngs had designed a tea towel – I follow her, and used one of her designs (with permission) for an art quilt (rooster) years ago. Thanks for the link! I like what you are doing with both of your pieces, and what a great idea, using tea towels! Hope your finger is better soon.

  3. gail moore

    Your art translates well into the fabric. Like being able to cuddle up with your favorite art wrapped around you. Beautiful

  4. Penny Bruce

    What a great use for that gorgeous tea towel! Way too nice to get messed up in a kitchen…And so happy you’re enjoying my donated birdies. How did you hurt that finger??

    • I have no 8dea how I hurt my finger except wear and tear, and ignoring the warning signs of pain. I suspect it’s tied to arthritis. Glad you like the sea creatures towel.

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.