Wallflowers

wall·​flow·​er ˈwȯl-ˌflau̇(-ə)r 

1a: any of several Old World perennial herbs (genus Cheiranthus) of the mustard family

especially: a hardy erect herb (C. cheiri) widely cultivated for its showy fragrant flowers

b: any of a related genus (Erysimum) of herbs with showy flowers

2a: a person who from shyness or unpopularity remains on the sidelines of a social activity (such as a dance)

b: a shy or reserved person (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/wallflower)

Am I the only one who sees a contradiction in the above definitions? Showy yet on the sidelines? But that contradiction applies to the wallflowers, or wallpaper flowers I have been creating over the past month. A few years ago I was given many pages from wallpaper sample books and I have used them in collages and mixed media pieces. As I was sorting my supply of collage materials I noticed that the remaining samples didn’t lend themselves to easy integration with other designs, so I decided to use them in the way they were intended, as wallpaper.

While I cut up some to use as flowers in vases, others became the backdrops and tabletops of my compositions. The vases themselves are made of gel prints and a museum handout, while some of the flowers are my practice exercises in watercolor technique.

Wallpaper and museum handout
I need to find a bird for the birdcage.
The background certainly fits the second definition of wallflower.
I knocked back the background with Neocolor II pastel.

I have no idea what I will do with these, but they were fun to construct and I now have just a few samples left. I’m linking to Off The Wall Fridays.

8 Comments

Filed under collage, Completed Projects

8 responses to “Wallflowers

  1. Marni Fisher

    These look like just great fun! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Laceflower

    Wow that looks like fun.

  3. Oh my gosh, these are wonderful! They do look like they were fun to construct. I know I have said it before – You have a great eye for composition and I think it really shows in these. They would make lovely prints on greeting/note cards.

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.