Beyond Bindings

When I was clearing out files on an old computer I came across a folder of photos from an art quilt group presentation on different ways to finish and display quilts. My friend C applied her creativity and her extensive collection of sewing and craft notions to several small quilts she made. I was delighted to come across the photos as my latest silk quilt will need a nonstandard edge finish, and I am looking for ideas.

Here are just some of the many possibilities presented.

A decoupaged paper pattern backing with a smaller fabric quilt velcroed to it.
A collection of ARCs (artist trading cards) joined with beading and hung from yarn wrapped bamboo.
Detail of joined ATCs

A zipped triptych that opens to reveal a quilt, hung from bundled twigs.

More zippers and front wrapped bindings
Shapes created with Solvy mounted on a bubble wrap printed canvas
Embroidery displayed on fabric wrapped embroidery hoop
Small three layer quilt mounted between bamboo poles
Solvy and Angelina created fabric and repurposed thread fringe hung from fabric wrapped shape
Facing wrapped to the front, shaped, and stitched down

Quilted fabric decoupaged on painted canvas

As you can see, the artist used scraps of thread, beads, buttons, and found hangers creatively and sensitively; as well as her hand stitching expertise. She combined fabric, paper, and pre-stretched canvases to make her small pieces intriguing wall art rather than mere pot holders. I’d love to point you to more of her work, but she has a minimal online presence.

Thanks for letting me share some of your lovely work, C.

I’m linking to Off The Wall Fridays.

8 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, Inspiration, Techniques

8 responses to “Beyond Bindings

  1. Fascinating options. Now to remember them when I need them. I’m especially taken with the zippers and the possibility of rearranging the order of the pieces and the irregular edge of the facing brought forward.

  2. What a blast from the past. I forgot about all of these pieces as they are tucked away in boxes. Thank you for sharing my work. Charlotte

  3. Jane Herbst

    You always seem to know when I need a certain type of inspiration, Joanna! Thank you for sharing these many creative ideas! Isn’t it amazing what we can find when browsing old files, both paper and digital!?!

  4. Thanks for sharing this. Quite creative and many ideas that I’ve never seen before!

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.