It’s A Quilt National Year

Just about every other year I travel to Athens, Ohio, to take in Quilt National, one of the more prestigious art quilt shows that’s been around since 1979. This year for my birthday my husband drove me three hours each way, and took a long walk while I gawped to my heart’s content at the 81 works this year’s jurors had selected. Size, style, techniques, and subjects were varied; which is perfect for representing the diversity in art quilts.

I’ll try to recap some of the themes and trends I saw this year, and provide photos where I can. Photography isn’t allowed, and I couldn’t find online photos of some works I wanted to show you. Please bear in mind these are my opinions only, and others will have different perspectives.

Increased use of digitally printed fabric and other materials

Russ Little and other artists developed their designs using software like Procreate and then had it printed on fabric. Some created their design the old fashioned way and then photographed and printed the result. The design is original throughout the process, but the artist can tweak it to their heart’s content before committing to fabric.

“Mindful Scribblings” Russ Little. The sewn/embroidered circles were added after the scribble design was printed.
“Puzzled” by Cecile Trentini is made up of pieces from a puzzle printed from a digital scribble by the artist. Each piece is hand sewn onto a velcro square that can be swapped out for another square.

More off the wall work

I mean this in all senses. Some of the pieces, like “Saint Jude by the Dumpster,” tell unusual stories. Others stand away from the wall, while a few are totally 3D. And one, “Like Words That Shape Poems…Like Notes That Shape Music,” are 3D and light shows.

“Say Their Names I” Patricia Montgomery. The coat projects from the wall from attachments at the neck and front lapels, and is embroidered with names. This was the best photo I could find, and is of a note card.

Use of paper with fabric

I noted two quilts that were partly made of paper: Jane Lloyd’s “Paradise -Paradise Lost,” and Eszter Bornemisra’s “Late Afternoon.” I haven’t read the QN rules, but I assume a certain percentage of the submitted work must be fabric. However, given my interest in paper I was glad to see ways to use it in quilts.

Eszter Bornemisza, another quilt in her Late Afternoon series similar to the one in QN. The cut out squares and rectangles are paper strung together with stitch.

Irregular edges, non-rectangular shapes

What a delight to see so many oddly shaped pieces. Many had irregular edges and holes and took advantage of shadows created.

“Drought of Honesty” Susan Hotchkis
“Forest of Seasons” Diana Fox. The open spaces between the circles and the irregular edges create intriguing shadows.

Still plenty of hand quilting and applique

Amid high tech software and cutters, some artists still do it all by hand. The quilting is often looser than that favored in traditional quilting.

“Mimi, Mimi, Mimi” Heidi Parkes (detail)
“Under Drifting Stars” Judith Martin (won Handwork Award)

Increased use of recycled materials

Many pieces used old clothes and linens, but some were made entirely from them.

“Interwoven 3” Rachel Dorr. An old bed sheet was torn into strips that were knitted and crocheted, then attached to another section of the sheet that was quilted.
“Saint Jude by the Dumpster” Anne Smith. All recycled clothing.

There were still plenty of impressionistic landscapes and brightly colored abstract quilts

Here are a few I think my husband would like.

“Stormy Sea” Jean Sredl
“Wattle Time” Linden Lancaster
“Trees at Dawn” Shin-Hee Chin

While I can’t direct you to a website for a digital version of this show, I can mention several short YouTube videos by selected artists about their work. Some are straightforward explanations of how the work was created. Others are more mysterious. I loved learning that Jean Sredl sees herself as a fabric listener, and I have no idea how John Lefelhocz made his light quilt.

Finally, if you fear the show has no eye candy, never fear. There are lots of brightly colored pieces, many made of solid colors. I wanted to show what was different, which ended up being more subdued work.

“Celebration” Heather Pregger

I’m linking to Off The Wall Fridays.

4 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, Quilt Shows

4 responses to “It’s A Quilt National Year

  1. Laceflower

    So many diversities happening in our quilting world. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thank you for sharing this, it must have been wonderful to see the pieces in person.

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.