Oh No, the “S” Word

Like many quilters who have been at it a while, I have plenty of fabric. Years of trips to quilt shops and gifts from former quilters have fleshed out my stash. And the internet has made it so easy to acquire more. I keep swearing I’ll use only what I already have or create myself.

Then comes the message about the sale – 50% off on fat quarters! And it’s from Spoonflower, which means I can create my own fabric without any mess. The offer was too tempting for me to pass up, so I edited a few photos, including collages I’ve made, and sent them in.

A mirrored collage that creates a pattern repeat
Another mirrored collage
The original collage
Fiddlehead collage

This is a large collage with many different thicknesses of paper, which caused the piece to buckle. I should have done it on a board or heavier paper. However, I now have a non- rippled version.

Wall and crab apple trees at Stan Hywet

I won’t use the above fabric as is, but will cut it up in some fashion.

Three versions of a sycamore leaf created in PhotoShop Elements

I plan to cut up the three fat quarters into blocks and make an almost traditional quilt with them. Knowing me, it will be a summer project.

Here’s hoping I ignore all future fabric sale come ons. It’s not so much the money, but how many more quilts can I make, honestly?

I’m linking to Off The Wall Friday.

10 Comments

Filed under Fabric Printing

10 responses to “Oh No, the “S” Word

  1. Rebecca Grace

    Your Spoonflower fabrics turned out great! I don’t think that designing and custom printing your very own original fabric “counts” towards and self-imposed bans on stash-building fabric acquisitions.

  2. You are so clever! I enjoy seeing your pieces/fabrics and reading how you made them. I’m very curious to see what you do with the Wall and crab apple trees piece (cut up), someday.

  3. Barbara

    Especially like the fiddlehead.

  4. Jane Herbst

    Such fun fabrics, Joanna, and a great way to have fun with your collages! No worries about continuing to embrace future Spoonflower fabric sale come-ons. It’s another element of your creativity, and clearly feeds your soul. You’ll know how many more quilts you can make when you don’t make any more, and then you’ll still have the fabric to enjoy … or “gift-away” … or ….

    • I think at some point I may simply glue fabric together and forget about thread entirely.

      • Jane Herbst

        Why not? I’ve seen some very creative fabric collages using glue or fusible web instead of thread, Joanna, including a few employing techniques of fuse, cut, rearrange … lather, rinse, repeat … If you like it then it’s the right thing for you to do. I doubt I’ll be the only person to encourage you to keep doing what you want to do today or tomorrow.

      • I think the key is when you remove stitching the work becomes a fabric collage.

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.