Neotraditional

I’m wrapping up 2021 with a throwback to tradition. What makes it neotraditional is the leaves, developed from a photo I edited and had printed by Spoonflower.

Untitled, about 32 by 40 inches

Each leaf is framed with solids from my stash, and hand dyed linen from the theater costume shop. The outer borders are Marcia Derse fabric. The binding is made from her fabric as well. Since I took the photos I’ve blocked the quilt to remove waviness.

Detail

I used three shades of red and a brownish gray to quilt swoopy curves meant to suggest wind blown leaves. The back is truly nontraditional, as I used hunks of very different fabrics that have spent far too long sitting in the drawer. I had planned to use the left stripe for binding, and it did finish the edges of a few quilts. Now, however, I mostly face the edges. The middle fabric could be used for measuring, in a pinch. The right fabric is by Paula Nadelstern and just shouted “look at me” too much for easy use.

Back

For some reason I’ve been struggling to name this one. Possibilities I’ve considered include Sycamore, Found On The Path, and Ode to Autumn. There’s no hurry, as I won’t be entering it in any shows. My husband will be thankful there’s a quilt around the house he can “get.”

7 Comments

Filed under Completed Projects

7 responses to “Neotraditional

  1. Pingback: Summer’s Empire Is Falling Down | The Snarky Quilter

  2. I love the red and gray combo and the swirly quilting. Of the names you have thought so far,I like “found on the path.”

  3. I think this piece is beautiful. It’s so nice that your husband “gets” it. I love your quilting – it makes me think a leaves silently sailing to the ground. The backing is fun and I like that your binding doesn’t take away from the main body of the quilt. I hope you’ll let us know what you title it, if you do. Happy New Year to you and yours.

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.