Summer’s Empire Is Falling Down

Sometimes revisiting my scrap hoard sparks an idea for a new quilt. While shuffling through fabric I had Spoonflower print from a photo I came across large leaves that I hadn’t used in an earlier quilt. Here’s that quilt.

“Sycamore”

For my new quilt I pulled all sorts of autumnal colored scraps – cottons, silks, synthetics – and grouped them around the leaf panels I had left. I spent some time moving parts around and began construction in chunks.

I had another reason for making this quilt, a regional SAQA exhibit (Indiana, Michigan, Ohio) that’s to feature a bit of the color known as poison green or Scheel’s green. Here’s how the prospectus describes it:

In 1775 the color, Scheel’s Green, was discovered and later in 1814, the much
improved Paris Green was developed. Both pigments were created by chemists and
produced a remarkable shade of emerald green by combining chemicals that produced
arsenic poison. This vibrant green was extremely popular among the privileged because
it symbolized royalty and wealth. Despite the deadly drawbacks, fashions, wallpaper,
soaps, paints, and toys were produced in abundance. Factory workers who produced
these commodities as well as consumers suffered severe side effects including death.
By the end of the 19th century the deadly greens were replaced with less toxic pigments
and dyes.
The art quilts produced for “A Drop of Emerald Green” will have just a touch of today’s
safe emerald green as a reminder of the tragic history of the color green.

So, there’s a drop of emerald green on my quilt in a spot where there might well be a bit of vivid green left on a leaf.

“Summer’s Empire Is Falling Down” top

The entry deadline is November, so I have plenty of time for fine tuning and quilting. I am considering doing wavy edges as they aren’t straight now, and I have deliberately avoided straight seam lines. And I do have a title, the heading of this entry, which comes from a Joni Mitchell song.

I am linking to Off The Wall Fridays.

11 Comments

Filed under Art quilts, In Process, Inspiration

11 responses to “Summer’s Empire Is Falling Down

  1. Donna

    Looks like a winner to me.

  2. I had read somewhere that William Morris, known for boosting medieval craftsmanship, produced wallpaper with arsenic green coloring. That seemed pretty deceptive to me — tell customers you are using medieval methods but in reality use modern technology, that might be making them sick! But I wasn’t sure so I just looked it up, and in a St. Louis Museum of Art article, they say that he thought the arsenic scare was a medical hoax! https://www.slam.org/blog/arsenic-in-victorian-wallpaper/ So interesting.

    I really like that your pieces always have a back story.

  3. Very cool. Just a little green. I like the idea of wavy edges. When I look at it makes me think of walking through the trees under falling leaves. I look forward to reading/seeing how you finished it, I hope you’ll share that.

  4. Penny Bruce

    I think I know which song title you’re referring to. “Little Green”? Entirely appropriate! Looks like it will be an interesting design!

  5. This one is going to be stunning! Love it!

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.