No Place Like Home

I never thought I would work in series, but sometimes they happen, if you can call two a series. Maybe I should call the pieces fraternal twins. A few months ago I made a kindergarten style house mask and painted around it on old music sheets and a watercolor. Back in the paper stack they went until I was searching for diversion from a quilting problem.

When I shuffled through my collage papers and found them I decided to develop home themes without any idea other than the classic inverted V roof outline. I had a grand time painting sort of solid colors on Bristol boards. While they dried I sifted through my collage bits and pulled out elements I thought might work, with an emphasis on color.

The yellow ochre one features roof lines, and gel plate transfer prints on tissue paper. I added birds’ nests as a secondary feature, but was mostly concerned with color and composition.

“Getting the Point”

The blue one took a hard swerve into fantasy land with carpets of flowers, balloons, and the American Gothic couple. The balloons are from color copies I printed of the circle/oval quilt I wrote about last week. As in “Getting The Point,” I got into windows again. I must have cut out every photo of a window I came across.

“Digging It”

In case you wonder, these are mixed media pieces as they involve paint, pens, and crayons.

I’m linking to Off The Wall Fridays.

8 Comments

Filed under Completed Projects, mixed media

8 responses to “No Place Like Home

  1. The row of shovels, the tattered curtains — what secrets are that couple keeping?!
    That is one thing I love about your work — there are always elements that allow the viewer to come up with different interpretations, and that encourages longer viewing time to really study the piece.

  2. So good! I can imagine your brain wheels turning as you designed and constructed this pieces – fun but challenging, I’d guess. Wonderful results. More and more I’m loving mixed media collage.

I Love to Hear From You

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.